Arena/Stadium: Enyimba International Stadium

Owners – Abia State Government

Chairman: Felix Anyansi-Agwu

Manager: Fatai Osho

Nickname(s): Peoples’ Elephant, The Aba Warriors

Founded: 1976

Season League Rank Played Points W/D/L Goals Players
2014/2015 Season NPFL 1 38 70 19/13/6 48:27
2015/2016 Season NPFL 10 36 50 14/8/14 34:35
2017 NPFL U15 4 4 3 1/0/3 2:7
2016/2017 NPFL 3 38 61 18/7/13 43:28
2017/2018 Season NPFL 4 24 38 9/11/4 23:16
2018/2019 Season NPFL GROUP A 3 22 33 8/9/5 22:13
1 5 12 4/0/1 10:4
2019/2020 Season NPFL 5 20 36 11/3/6 30:20

Founded in 1976 following the creation of the then Imo State, Enyimba International Football Club of Aba would go on to be the first club to win the CAF Champions League for Nigeria and also the first to win the competition back to back following triumphs in 2003 and 2004.

Based in Aba, a commercial hub for businesses in southern Nigeria, Enyimba has won the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) title for a record 8 times and the Federations Cup four times beginning from 2001. With the Peoples Elephant, as its moniker, Enyimba have always plays its home fixtures at the former Aba Township Stadium which was renamed Enyimba International Stadium and recently upgraded to a 16,000 capacity ground.

Coach Godwin Koko Uwa led Enyimba to its first league title in 2001 and followed up with the Charity Cup also called Super Cup in the same year. The wins marked the beginning of the club’s dominance of Nigeria’s club competitions. Enyimba registered its presence in CAF competitions with participation in the CAF Champions League in 2002 but got knocked out in the second round by ASEC Mimosas of Ivory Coast.

Enyimba ranks among the top clubs from where a good pool of Super Eagles players have been drawn, especially from the squad of 2003 which included goalkeeper, Vincent Enyeama (he would go on to captain the Eagles), defender Obinna Nwaneri and Onyekachi Okonkwo. Other Enyimba players who went on to play for Nigerian national team include Uche Kalu, Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Ikouwem Udo Utin, Mfon Udoh, Henry Uche, Dele Aiyenugba, Bright Esieme and Chima Akas. While the club basks in its records, one of the players, Mfon Udoh also boasts of the record of scoring the highest number of goals in a single season with 23 goals scored in 2014. Udoh also emerged top scorer in the CAF Champions League in 2016 with 9 goals.

Prominent Nigerian Coaches have also had stints at the Aba side and they include Kadiri Ikhana who led the club to the CAF Champions League win in 2003, Felix Okey Emordi who took over from Ikhana and equaled his CAF win feat in 2004 and Nigeria’s 2018 World Youth Championship Coach, Paul Aigbogun.

Nigeria Professional Football League
NPFL 2023/2024
Enyimba International Stadium

Stay Connected

Stay informed, and immerse yourself in the passion of the beautiful game!
You have been successfully Subscribed! Ops! Something went wrong, please try again.
Experience the thrill of Nigerian Professional Football League (NPFL) like never before.


  • media@propelsportsgroup.com

  • Deansgate Manchester, GB


League Standings



© 2023 NPFL Live